World Cup Final: Player of the Tournament, Player of the Match, top run-scorer and more awards and winners

November 20,2023

Australia defeated India by six wickets in the final of the 2023 Cricket World Cup in Ahmedabad on Sunday to clinch a record sixth title.

The Men in Blue may have been favourites to lift the title under home conditions, but the Aussie pace trio of Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood and Mitchell Starc teamed up to dismiss India for 240.

In reply, despite a shaky start when Australia were 47/3 at one stage, Travis Head (137) and Marnus Labuschagne (58*) forged a century-run stand to eventually take the visitors home with seven overs to spare.

Several awards were given away following the conclusion of the final at the Narendra Modi Stadium.

Despite ending up on the losing side, Virat Kohli, who broke a couple of notable records of Sachin Tendulkar, bagged some of these  awards. Kohli had broken Sachin Tendulkar’s record of most ODI hundreds with a 106-ball century against New Zealand in the semi-final, while also having amassed 765 runs this World Cup, the most by any batter in a single edition of the competition.

Let’s now take a look at the complete list of wards and its winners:

Player of the Tournament: Virat Kohli (765 runs and one wicket)

Player of the Final: Travis Head (137 runs)

Most runs: Virat Kohli (765 runs in 11 matches)

Most hundreds: Quinton de Kock (Four centuries)

Highest score: Glenn Maxwell (201* against Afghanistan)

Highest strike-rate: Glenn Maxwell

Most fifties: Virat Kohli (Six fifties)

Most wickets: Mohammed Shami (24 wickets)

Best bowling figures: Mohammed Shami (7/57 vs New Zealand in semi-final)

Most sixes: Rohit Sharma (31 sixes)

Most catches: Daryl Mitchell (11 catches)

Most dismissals by a wicketkeeper: Quinton de Kock (20 dismissals)